Entrepreneurs, Sticky Notes, and Richard Scarry: My Night with the Entrepreneurs Club

The thing I keep hearing about today’s journalists and today’s journalism world is that we need to be entrepreneurs. I couldn’t agree more. But I also believe this is true of most things in life now. You think someone’s really going to look out for you with a pension anymore?

It was this mindset that inclined me to give the Husky Entrepreneurs Club a shot. It’s quite apparent from the moment you walk in that you won’t simply be listening to business students make announcements. I mentioned to the club’s vice president that I would be taking pictures and covering the meeting for this blog, and his reply said it all, “sure, but you’re going to have to take part in our activity.”

The activity he was referring to required us to split up into small teams. Each group was told to go to the library and pick up a book, while writing down any and all observations on sticky notes as we did so. The Great Pie Robbery, by Richard Scarry was our book. (Children’s books in Snell?)

As my group and I departed Dodge Hall, I said to my group, “We are actually physically moving somewhere to complete the task, transportation is involved,” thinking the point of this exercise was to apply some type of methodical business model to any task.

Matt Osofisan, a fellow group member replied, “This guy is serious, really thinking outside the box!” We all agreed that was how we should approach this.

After minimal controversy, but learning that I was the only one on my team who really knew my way around the library, we found our book. We technically “outsourced” the job of finding the title to a librarian, but we figured that was part of the exercise.

Upon returning to Dodge Hall, we were told that some of the most successful entrepreneurs are those who are aware of what goes in to every step of a process in completing a goal. If you can begin to apply this type of thinking to your every day life, you’re essentially training yourself for the times you’ll need it most.

This is what characterizes the people who frequent the entrepreneurs club. There is a sense of community here, which can strike some as odd, considering the individualistic nature of entrepreneurship. They want this club to be an open forum for any and all current or aspiring entrepreneurs to bounce ideas around. In my limited time there, I certainly feel that. Great student mentors like Praful Mathur already email me weekly with ideas and encouragement.

And I’ve only been a member for 2 weeks.

Leave a comment

Filed under A Day in the Life

Leave a Reply

